Select Page

Forum

Notifications

This is how your course is designed  

RSS

Let's face it. Arguably, there is nothing that beats the flexibility of classroom training. However, the world is moving fast towards online learning.

I have been a trainer/teacher all along my editing career and love to see the "aha" moment in a face during training. When I decided that I would launch online courses, my only goal was how to evoke that feeling - how to reproduce that "aha" moment - while a person is learning, even though I cannot see it. Here are some of the strategies that I have incorporated into my courses to maximize the learning experience.

1. Instructor-paced training. We are so strongly wired with the idea that gratification should be immediate. An associated challenge is avoidance. When we find something difficult, we tend to avoid that, or the least procrastinate, telling ourselves that we will come back to it later. However, this nature may seriously affect learning. Therefore, most of the formative learning is instructor paced.

That is, the learning of new topics is structured in such a way that you cannot skip or jump topics.

You might have noticed that when you skip a topic or quiz, you will not be able to access the next page. Only on completing a topic will you be able to move forward.

An important note: Quizzes automatically recognize completion when you hit "Submit". However, the theory topics do not recognize completion automatically. You have to manually let the system know, by clicking on "Mark as complete".

(As an aside, I loved this piece on avoiding avoidance: https://zenhabits.net/face-everything/)

2. Baseline and final assessments. These two types of assessments are meant to test your knowledge before and after taking a lesson, respectively.